Pedro Barros Wins Vans Bondi Bowl-A-Rama



Last year Pedro Barros proved he’s one of the best young skateboarders out there when he held off Bucky Lasek and won the Skate Bowl Finals at the Dew Tour – with a little help from mother nature. Six months later, the 17-year-old continues to prove that that he’s a bowl extraordinaire.

For the fourth year in a row, Barros won the Vans Bowl-A-Rama Bowl Pro contest in Bondi Beach, Australia. Sunday was the ninth annual time the event took place, as it becomes more popular with each passing year.

Mother nature tried to impact the event – which was delayed earlier in the weekend due to weather conditions – but the threatening clouds held off so that Barros could put on a show.

Much like months earlier, the finals came down once again to Lasek and Barros. Lasek began on fire, thanks to highly technical, nearly flawless runs. But it simply wasn’t enough to overtake Barros.

The Brazilian native blew judges – and thousands of onlookers – away with a variety of tricks, that helped him earn the unprecedented prize purse of $105,000. The event has become one of the biggest skateboarding events during the winter months and helps skaters qualify for further events.

“The line up this year was incredible! We have worked very hard to ensure that Australia has a place on the international stage with Vans Bowl-A-Rama Bondi. We want to ensure that it works hard for Australian skaters. We now have a clear pathway for Australian riders to literally come from nowhere and earn their way onto the international tour by qualifying through Hurley ABC and going on to compete at Vans Bowl-A-Rama Bondi,” Events Director, Chad Ford said in a statement.

Though he might not be a household name just yet, if Barros continues to dominate bowl events at his age, it’s only a matter of time until he’s recognized globally. He’s got plenty of time to do so.

Ed is a UFC/Extreme Sports contributor for CraveOnline Sports. You can follow him on Twitter @PhillyEdMiller, and subscribe on Facebook @ CraveOnlineSports.

Final Results
1. Pedro Barros $4,200
2. Alex Sorgente $2,500
3. Murilo Peres $1,600
4. Felipe Foguinho $1,100
5. Cory Juneau $900
6. Sky Siljeg $800
7. Vi Kakinho $700
8. Otavio Neto $600
1. Brian Patch $1,750
2. Lester Kasai $1,100
3. Pat Ngoho $800
4. Sergie Ventura $600
5. Sean Goff $500
6. Steve Crump $350
7. Leigh McKenzie $250
8. Jason Parks $200
Best Trick
Sky Siljeg – Fs ollie tailgrab off of the extension

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *